(9/28/17) Bayanihan Project Pitch

Since the start of the year, my bayanihan group and I have been planning a project to be carried out during CAS week in May. We have partnered with SEED Center Philippines, an organization that works with underprivileged individuals to foster entrepreneurial development, to create a program that will educate participants on basic business and entrepreneurial techniques. With the help of a powerpoint presentation, pitched this idea to our entire year and our teachers and were relieved to have gotten a favorable response.

LO1- Able to propose activities according to own interests and talents

I am planning to take a business-related course in college, as I take much interest in the corporate world and wish to be a member of it. I incorporated this interest into the proposal for SEED, SEED being a business-related organization.

LO3- Demonstrates knowledge and awareness by building on a previous CAS experience

I’ve worked with multiple charities before, so I have a certain amount of experience in working with underprivileged adults am aware of the basic obstacles involved in creating non-residential programs,. I can use this knowledge to help create a more flexible and feasible plan for my group.

LO4- Is able to foresee potential challenges to the initial plan and consider valid alternatives and contingincies

In our pitch, my group mates and I considered the benefits and obstacles of partnering with SEED and executing our program, which we presented.

LO6- Develops awareness and responsibility towards a shared humanity

Often times, charity projects are one-time things, improving the lives of its beneficiaries merely in the short-run. We wanted to help the community of Cavite, majority of which is a slum area, to sustainably improve their way of life by teaching them to practice a reliable method of receiving income.

LO7- Takes into account cultural context when making a plan or ethical decision

In order to properly formulate our plan for our bayanihan, we had to take the culture of the community into consideration.

Leave a comment